There Is A National History Museum In Lahore, Pakistan & It’s Not What You’d Expect!

Ahsen Ghufran Khan
6 min readMar 25, 2021

--

Imagine going somewhere for an interview and falling for the office building. Such experiences are very rare in Pakistan, especially for introverts. When I was called for an interview at the National History Museum, I never knew I was in for such an experience. I must confess I was rather a bit reluctant.

Getting to the Greater Iqbal Park at 12pm on a Saturday is quite a hassle. I knew crossing the Civil Secretariat and Data Darbar area will prove to be near impossible for my car. So, I dusted my old Honda 70 and set off on an adventure in Lahore.

What coaxed me into leaving my comfy bed and diving into the clogged roads of inner Lahore on a holiday was nothing else than my love for history. I had to go there. It was important. There were no excuses.

As I got to the place and saw the museum, I knew it was a place I’d enjoy working. I entered the building following the COVID-19 SOPs. Respecting the rules is as important as respecting yourself.

The environment was calm and serene there. The person at the front desk, Mr. Muhammad Awais was courteous and helpful. As I sat on one of the seats in the hall, waiting for my interview, I couldn’t help but admire the interior décor.

My mind was agitated. I was yearning to get the tickets and experience the exhibitions in the museum. It was a maze of wonder in front of me. But I had to exercise patience. I had an interview. After some very long minutes, I was called in for the interview. I found two amiable people sitting on the other side of the table asking very interesting questions. The interview was engaging and when it was over, I hastened to get the tickets of the museum.

Mr. Awais informed me that there was also a 3D animation of the Indo-Pak partition experience featuring a 360-degree view and amazing sound effects. Without thinking I purchased a ticket for it.

It was time to enter the maze and I was excited! There was a very nice lady at the entrance who explained the entire structure of the museum along with how the exhibitions were placed and how to enjoy the experiences.

Why am I referring to the exhibitions as experiences? I will explain it later, but first you need to take a look at these pictures.

These were experiences because every exhibition included an audio narrative of an individual who experienced the actual event. There were headphones that you could easily place on your head and listen to these interesting narratives without bothering others around you.

Sadly, very few people know about it. During my visit, the people there were only interested in taking pictures for their social media accounts.

I hope this article will bring more history-loving people to the National History Museum in Lahore, Pakistan.

--

--

Ahsen Ghufran Khan

Ahsen is a travelling enthusiast who earns his livelihood as a Marketing Content Strategist.